Panel Discussions

Panel Discussion Notes

Panel discussions will be held on Tuesday, September 17th from 3:30-5:00 pm.


Panel Members:
Hugues Hoppe (Microsoft Research)
Hugues Hoppe is a researcher in the Computer Graphics Group at Microsoft Research. His primary interests lie in the acquisition, representation, and rendering of geometric models. For his PhD work on surface reconstruction from 3D scans, he was selected as a finalist in the 1995 Discover Awards for Technological Innovation. He subsequently developed multiresolution representations for geometry, including piecewise smooth subdivision surfaces, progressive meshes, progressive simplicial complexes, displaced subdivision surfaces, and geometry images. Most recently, his research efforts have focused on surface parameterizations, to exploit the new rasterization features of graphics hardware. Contributions include lapped textures, normal-shooting parameterization, geometric-stretch minimization, hierarchical solvers, and signal-specialized parameterization. His publications include 16 papers at ACM SIGGRAPH. He received a BS summa cum laude in electrical engineering in 1989 from the University of Washington, and a PhD in computer science from the University of Washington in 1994.

Mark Shephard (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
Professor Mark S. Shephard is the Samuel A. and Elisabeth C. Johnson, Jr. Professor of Engineering and Director of the Scientific Computation Research Center at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Dr. Shephard has published over 200 papers in the area of automated and adaptive finite element modeling. He is a fellow in, and past president of, the US Association for Computational Mechanics; a fellow and member of the General Council of the International Association for Computational Mechanics; a fellow of ASME and an Associate Fellow of AIAA. He is editor of Engineering with Computers and on the editorial board of five computational mechanics journals.

Robert Leland (Sandia National Laboratories)
Robert Leland completed his Ph.D. in Mathematics at Oxford University in 1989. He then joined the Parallel Computing Sciences Department at Sandia National Laboratories and pursued work principally in parallel algorithm development, sparse iterative methods and applied graph theory, co-authoring Chaco, a software package widely used for graph partitioning. In 1995 he worked for the White House on modernization of the nation's tax collection system as one of fourteen White House Fellows appointed that year by the President. He returned to Sandia in 1996 to lead the Parallel Computing Sciences Department, a group researching and developing algorithmic technology and software tools including the CUBIT mesh generation toolkit. In 2001 he assumed leadership of Computer and Software Systems, a group of four departments researching and developing supercomputing hardware, operating systems, meshing and visualization.

Marsha Berger (New York University)
Marsha Berger received her PhD from Stanford University in 1982. Since then she has been at the Courant Institute at New York University, where she is a professor of computer science and mathematics, and is currently the Deputy Director of the Institute. Her research interests are in adaptive methods for hyperbolic equations, and parallel computing. She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2000. She spends summers with collaborators at NASA Ames, and is a frequent visitor to the DOE labs in Berkeley and Livermore.

George Karniadakis (Brown University)
George Karniadakis is Professor of Applied Mathematics at Brown University and the Wallace Visiting Professor at MIT. He received his SM and PhD from MIT and was postdoc at Stanford and Assistant Professor at Princeton. He has pioneered spectral methods on unstructured grids and has perfomed the first parallel DNS and LES of turbulence in complex geometries. He is the author of three books. The opensource code NEKTAR that his group has developed is used around the world for turbulence, MHD, flow-structure interactions, and parallel computing.

Maintained by: Bernadette Watts
Modified on:
October 21, 2002